We have already written about oats and their undeniable qualities. And there is hardly a fan of healthy eating who has not experimented with them in the kitchen. However, one question has been raised more and more in recent years and that is about the intolerance of many people to gluten. How do we combine it with our love of oatmeal? And are there any gluten-free ones at all?
Many people are used to classifying oats with wheat and rye as grains that typically contain gluten, but this is not the case. Generally speaking, gluten is a collection of several proteins responsible for the development of the so-called gluten intolerance. And although oats, or oats, contain a type of protein called avenin, this does not make them dangerous for people suffering from celiac disease (celiac disease) or gluten intolerance.
Gluten-free oatmeal
The US Food and Drug Administration, for example, considers oats a gluten-free grain and requires that only packaged products with oats as an ingredient contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten overall. The new EU regulation also has such a requirement. Sounds soothing enough, right? But here we have to put "But" once more. Because the production process, thanks to which the oats reach the bowl in front of you in the morning, is important. It is about the danger of the so-called cross contact to "contaminate" the oats and their derived products. This can easily happen if it is grown together with or even near wheat for example. Particles from other cereals can also enter the production and packaging of oats. Therefore, if you have an intolerance, we advise you to look for oats whose label specifically mentions that they do not contain gluten. If all of this sounds overwhelming and difficult to implement, don't be in a hurry to write off oatmeal from your diet. They are super useful and nutritious. We are sure that some delicious and easy pancakes from our recipes will keep you in the oatmeal fan zone.